Hello, It’s Me!

Let’s start a blog! I suppose this first blog is really supposed to be an introduction to who I am, why I am doing this, and what my goals are.

I have always had a bit of a passion for writing but sometimes I have a hard time putting my thoughts down in words. Does anyone else struggle with verbalizing or putting in words the things that go through their head? Sometimes I think there might be something wrong with me. My thoughts aren’t always words. Every so often, probably more often than not, my thoughts come in vivid pictures, exciting glimmers of light, giant questions marks, or just complete blanks. Yes, you read that correctly, sometimes my thoughts are completely blank. I am learning more and more that it is very important for me to figure out how to decipher those thoughts – put them on paper and really challenge what my mind is giving me. Thoughts are a puzzle that I sometimes walk away from when I have gotten tired of trying to figure out their meaning, and sometimes they are an exciting adventure of learning and growing and finding out that there is so much more to this world than being stuck in one place.

So! The Diligent Dame. I created this blog because I want to invest in other people. I want to share my experiences, my struggles, my ideas, and hopefully one day I might help just one person. My plan is to share experiences, reviews, and advice on things that the busiest of the busiest go through. I hope to share professional advice, beauty advice, fashion advice, personal development, and so much more. “Why these things?,” you ask. Well, I guess this is where I tell you a little bit about myself.

I grew up always doing something. When I was really young, I did ballet, gymnastics, basketball, volleyball, theatre, choir, cheerleading, church, and more. When I finally decided that gymnastics was the sport for me, I dedicated more of my time to it. In middle school, I was exposed to the world of cheerleading and made the decision to switch over to that. Between school, homework, practice, family, and church, my time was pretty filled up. I was a cheerleader through my senior year of high school, and I truly loved it (despite a lot of struggles that I went through as a part of the program – but that is a story for another time.) In addition to cheerleading, I was a part of the choir program, an active participant in my church and youth group, and I started working the summer after I turned 15 years old. I lifeguarded during the summer, and during school I spent most of my time in extracurriculars while maintaining a 3.5 GPA (give or take!) I am far from perfect. I struggled a lot in high school, but one thing has always stayed the same… I have a severe addiction to keeping busy.

I have been working since I was 15 years old, and when I started college, I started loading up on the jobs. For the past 6 years, I have maintained at least two jobs at a time in additional to school. In college, I was a full time student, held two part time jobs, was an active participant in my sorority. Once I graduated from college, I maintained a full time job and had two part time jobs and started addressing my desires to start my own companies. Hustle. Hustle. Hustle. It’s my whole life. What I am learning now though, is that no matter how hard I hustle, success is not always dependent on hard work.We have to develop ourselves. We have to trust our conscience. We have to follow our hearts. We have to take risks.  Don’t ever forget that YOU are just as capable of doing amazing things as the people you look up to, the people you follow on Instagram, the people you worship in the magazines. YOU ARE AMAZING ALL ON YOUR OWN!  I just want to make sure those of us who invest a lot of time in others, don’t forget to invest a little time in ourselves too.

2b064e4a70c7b8ad9c65f02838cc1207

Being busy should not mean that we do not take the time to love ourselves. Beauty. Fashion. Health & Wellness. Sometimes we just need more ideas on how we can keep up with all these things even if we don’t have an hour…thirty minutes… sometimes less to devote to ourselves. I want to help with that.

This blog. My goals are about motivating, encouraging, helping and investing in others. I am so excited to get started.

Leave a comment